2017 Juno Award Winners

Sunday, April 7, 2019 | 3:30pm | Knox-Metropolitan United Church

With a special pre-concert performance at 3:00pm

FIEARRO TRIO (Eleanor Hector, Meika Sonntag and Jonathan Craig Penner) 

Four musicians with equally stellar pedigrees formed the New Orford String Quartet with the goal of developing a new model for a touring string quartet. Their concept has resulted in a quartet that maintains a remarkably fresh perspective while bringing a palpable sense of joy to each performance. The Toronto Star has described this outcome as “nothing short of electrifying” and they have been described as Canada’s best string quartet by CBC Radio.
Consisting of the concertmasters and principal cellist and violist of the Montreal, Detroit, and Toronto Symphonies, the New Orford String Quartet has seen astonishing success, giving  annual concerts for national CBC broadcast and receiving unanimous critical acclaim, including two Opus Awards for Concert of the Year. In 2017 the group was awarded the Juno for Classical Album of the Year: Solo or Chamber Ensemble for their stunning recording of the Brahms Op. 51 string quartets.

Vanchestein: Les Veuves
Brahms: Quartet in A minor, Op. 51, No. 2
Beethoven: Quartet in C-sharp minor, Op. 131


“These four string virtuosos animate every note with uncommon power and passion as well as elegance. Listen and weep.” – The Toronto Star

We acknowledge the support of the Canada Council for the Arts.

Nous remercions le Conseil des arts du Canada de son soutien.